New Doctors

Joining the Family Medicine Residency Program at McAlester Regional Health Center in June are from left:  Drs. John Joyave, Christine Tavakoli, and Jonathan Rohloff.

McAlester Regional Health Center’s Physician Residency Program continues to be a top choice for new doctors, with three specialists graduating in June 2016 just as three new residents arrived on campus.

Joining the MRHC Family Medicine program in June were Dr. Jonathan Rohloff, Dr. Christine Tavakoli and Dr. John Joyave. Rohloff and Joyave are graduates of Lincoln Memorial University’s Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine at Harrogate, Tenn. Tavakoli graduated Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at Fort Worth, Texas.

The three new doctors join Family Medicine Doctors of Osteopathy Clay Bowen, Jennifer Kim, William Kinderknecht, Dami Akingbola, Chelsea Berges and Lori Peters. Each licensed doctor in the residency program works at MRHC for three years as a requirement in the medical specialty of Family Medicine.

Graduating from the program June 30 were new Family Medicine specialists Dr. Stephanie Patyk, Dr. Andrew Ryals and Dr. Laura Jennings.

“We are proud to graduate these new doctors into the medical field of family medicine,” said Jason Bray, Chief Information Officer for MRHC. “Helping grow new doctors is important to us, and McAlester Regional Health Center is a pleased to welcome our newest doctors on campus each year.”

Each Family Medicine resident sees patients through the Southeast Clinic at MRHC.  The Family Medicine physicians practice under the direct supervision of Dr. Carol Gambrill, Family Medicine practitioner at MRHC’s Southeast Clinic.

Dr. Jason McElyea is the MRHC Director of Medical Education. Each week, he meets with the doctors formally to review patient cases and procedures, and presents a lecture.

The physicians also work on a research project as part of their residency.